Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

A couple MA training ideas

Thaibox

I’ve been asked by several people lately on a decent workout schedule for preparing to fight in boxing and NHB. I am not an expert on training, but I do have a good amount of experience in the ring, in the gym, on the mat, and instructing, so I’ll share what I can, and what, in my opinion, will help get you to dominate in the ring and on the mat. I’m going to say all this like it is fact for simplicity, but it’s only a crippled, ex-fighter’s opinion on things and some of my old training schedules. So keep that in mind, and gather other opinions, suggestions, and mold this into what you think is right for YOU.

Unfortunately my fighting career did not parallel with my time spent lifting. I found how to really lift well only a few years before I quit fighting. If I trained this way when I was younger I believe that I would not only have been more successful, but I would have saved my body from many of the injuries that keep me from training today.

I believe that the most important part of a fighter’s strength training is his legs. Whatever capacity you’re fighting in(boxing, Mauy Thai, MMA/NHB) if you have weak legs, you will not pose the highest threat possible to your opponent. Everything begins with your legs. Its the starting point of every power hit, every slip, every sprawl, every shoot, every kick. They are your balance, your leverage on the ground, and the pistons that will drive up that single or double applied to the body of a 300 lb. opponent. To neglect legs is to neglect what keeps you standing upright. Leg day should be the center of your strength training. Everything else is simply leading up to leg day.