Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Amature Boxing?

dugie65

Well i've got a tournament(my first) coming up in march that i'm beginning to train for.. My question is I am 5'8 185 11%BF(maybe a bit less). Should I: Cut weight to compete in the 165 class or try to put on solid weight and compete in the 181 class?

Any experienced guys out there your opinion is appreciated.

I'll admit I'm not experienced in this but anyway:

You are already very tight and low in BF, so you should not try to go down below the 165lb class unless you find that the rigorus boxing training causes the weight to fall off and you cant stop it. Much better to just eat well and stay where you are.

how is your speed, and defense...?

to drop all the way down to 165 is going to take ALOT out of you strength wise... unless you are lightning fast and have great defense, I would not try and drop that weight...

that being said, the guys at 181 are going to be hitting alot harder than 165, but they will most likely not be as quick, unless you run into a phenom, or a natural... ;)

i would suggest you stick with the 181 and get your cardio in order ASAP... and take it from there...

You're pretty low on BF. You may just want to get down to 181. What is that junior heavyweight? Can't remember. I fought at that weight on my first fight about 10 years ago but was like 15% bf. Next fight I went down to the 178lb class and dominated. Since you're only 5'8 you may want to go down to 178. Can't remember the weight classes but is the next one down from 181lb? The 165 lb class? That doesn't sound right to me.

dugie65 said: