Cholesterol can only be ingested from animal sources such as eggs, meat, dairy products, fish, and shellfish. Plants do not contain cholesterol. It is estimated that half of cholesterol eaten enters the body while the other half passes through. Normally, the more cholesterol we absorb, the less our bodies make (Lehninger’s Biochemistry).